The Celtic Sea

The Celtic Sea is the area of the Atlantic Ocean off the south coast of Ireland bounded to the east by Saint George’s Channel. Other borders are the Bristol Channel, the English Channel, and the Bay of Biscay. It is adjacent to parts of Wales, Cornwall, Devon, and Brittany. The southern and western limits are decided by the continental shelf, which drops away sharply into the Atlantic Ocean. The Isles of Scilly are a group of small islands in the sea, in an area renowned for more shipwrecks than any other part of the world.

The Celtic Sea receives its name from the Celtic heritage of the adjacent lands. The name was first proposed by E. W. L. Holt at a 1921 meeting in Dublin of fisheries experts from Great Britain, France, and Ireland to recognise that it wasn’t just a British sea. Prior to that the northern portion of this sea was considered as part of Saint George’s Channel and the southern portion as a part of the “Western Approaches” to Great Britain.

The need for a common name arose because of the common marine biology, geology and hydrology of the area. It was adopted in France, many years before gaining common acceptance in Britain. Although marine biologists, oceanographers and petroleum companies used the name, it did not appear on a British Atlas until 1963. It is still commonly
known as the “Western approaches”, but now you know it as The Celtic Sea.

Please share and educate. Let’s celebrate the fact that this sea, is named to celebrate our heritage.

One thought on “The Celtic Sea

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: